•Retries Allowed defines the number of failed Login attempts allowed for a User Name, within the Retries Period, before the User is locked out.
•Lockout Period defines the time that a User will be locked out after the Retries Allowed limit is exceeded.
➢Locked out users are informed of their locked out status, when they try to Login.
➢By default users will be locked out for 60 minutes after three consecutive failed password Login attempts within a 30 minute period.
Where a Lockout occurs, the User will be informed of the lockout period by a message on their browser and the lockout will be recorded in the Activity Log.
•The number of Retries Allowed can be up to 10. The required value is entered, by an Administrator, into the Retries Allowed: field in the Password Security Settings window.
•The Retries Period can be between 10 and 1440 minutes.The required value is entered, by an Administrator, into the Retries Period (Mins): field in the Password Security Settings window.
•The Lock Out Period can be up to 1440 minutes. The required value is entered, by an Administrator, into the LockOut Period (Mins): field in the Password Security Settings window.
|Note:||The Admin User is never locked out.|
A lockout value of 0 will lock out users until reset by the Administrator. Any Administrator lockout will be for 30 minutes (this prevents the Administrator becoming permanently locked out).
A Reset Lockout checkbox is available on the User Details screen. See Adding New Users and Figure 372 below:
The Reset Lockout control will normally be greyed out and will only become active when the User is currently locked out.
|Note:||The Reset Lockout control is only accessible by an Administrator.|
Administrators can also reset a locked out User from the Edit/View Users window, see the Edit a User section.